top of page


Anesthesia can be categorized into four categories:

  1. Oral Sedation (light sedation to help with anxiety)

  2. Intravenous Moderate Sedation (depressed level of consciousness, easily arousable)

  3. Deep Sedation (depressed level of consciousness, not easily arousable)

  4. General Anesthesia (unconscious, not arousable)




By discussing the needs with your Dentist Anesthesiologist,

an anesthetic plan is individually tailored to the patient's and the dentist's needs



Keep in mind, that although dentists are able to adminsiter IV sedation after continuing education courses, only dentist anesthesiologists have completed a two to three year residency program encompassing many aspects of medicine ranging from internal medicine to cardiology.  By focusing solely on anesthesia, whether in the hospital or in the outpatient medical and dental setting, the dentist anesthesiologist is exceptionally proficient in the delivery of anesthesia and sedation.  Once this program is completed they are able to administer ALL levels of anesthesia to a wide range of patients and procedures, but they have dedicated their practice specifically to only dental patients. The dentist anesthesiologist is only involved with the anesthesia of the treatment, not the dentistry, and is solely dedicated to mantaining the safety and comfort of the patient.  



For more Information, visit the ASDA website







Anesthesia and Sedation


bottom of page